Lindsey’s Books

thewaterwillholdyou view

“Exquisitely written memoir. Fans of Nora Gallagher and Patricia Hampl will welcome her narrative of spiritual exploration and discovery.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Reads like a well-written novel. The characters, her family and friends, are as real as the people we all know and love. Her struggles also are as real as those many face: death, substance abuse and relationships….”
Charleston Post & Courier

“Crittenden’s language aches with an authenticity that is beautiful and raw … the reader feels like a voyeur peeking into a window of her soul, [making] this book a treasure.”

“Honest, gutsy and written with a poet’s ear.”
SRQ — Sarasota Premier Magazine


“Readers will appreciate the author’s dexterity with imperfect intimacies and untidy emotions.”
Publishers Weekly

“This debut collection is likely to haunt readers’ thoughts for a long, long time.”

“Crittenden’s beautiful debut reminds us that lurking right beneath the implacable routines and best-laid plans of all of us are ghosts and stubborn memories, the dead and the longed-for. In the end, though, it is the heart’s best reasons that triumph. This reader rises at the end and goes forth with a wise bliss.”
— Katherine Vaz

“Lindsey Crittenden writes wonderful stories–sexy, lyric, beautifully crafted views of American life right now, the way it is.” –Max Byrd

“Here is a wonderfully lyric short story writer, who gives a new twist to the possibilities of the genre.”
— Alan Williamson